Message sent from:

The Governing Body

The governing body at Dodleston CE CE Primary School is chaired by Anne Tunnicliffe and consists of the head teacher, parent governors, foundation governors (from the local Church diocese), a Local Authority governor (currently vacant), a staff governor and co-opted governors.

Parent governors are elected by parents of children at the school. Foundation governors are appointed by the local Diocese Board of Education.  Co-opted governors are appointed by the governing body and LA governors are appointed by the local authority that maintains the school (Cheshire West and Chester Council).

The composition of the school’s governing body therefore reflects a range of groups from the community and enables the governing body to draw on a wide variety of skills and experiences.

Our Governors

Anne Tunnicliffe - Chair

Co-opted Governor

Julie Boyes

Head Teacher

Lyndsey Westron

Staff Governor

Michael Tomlinson - Co-opted Governor

Jill Griffiths - Foundation Governor

Rev. Robin Mosley - Foundation Governor

Rev. Hana Amner -Foundation Governor

Sarah Peters -Parent Governor

Andrew Halsall - Parent Governor

Vacancies: one Parent Governor and Co-opted Governor



The three main functions of the governing body are:

• To provide a strategic overview by the setting aims and objectives for the school and by adopting policies and setting targets for achieving those aims and objectives.

• To monitor and evaluate the school’s progress towards achieving its aims and to act as a “critical friend” to the Headteacher by supporting and challenging them in managing the school.

• To ensure accountability to the pupils, the parents, the local community, the local authority and the staff with the aim of raising standards and improving the outcomes for the pupils at the school.

The governors are not responsible for the day to day management of the school; this is the Headteacher’s role. The Headteacher is also responsible for the implementation of the strategic framework established by the governing body, the implementation of the school’s policies and the internal organisation of the school.

The Headteacher provides information and advice to the governors to enable them to fulfil their functions and reports to the governing body on the school’s progress at least once a term. The governing body meet once every half term (six times per year) and delegate some areas of work to task-and-finish groups.

Governor Details

Name Category of Governor Appointing Body Start Date End Date Special Responsibilities Relevant Business and Pecuniary Interests
Mrs Julie Boyes (Headteacher) Headteacher - 01/09/2013 ex-officio   None
Rev Robin Mosley Foundation Governor Diocese 09/11/2017 26/6/2027   None
Sarah Peters Parent Governor   15/12/2021 15/12/2025    
Mrs Jill Griffiths Foundation Governor Diocese 11/04/2015 11/04/2027 EYFS None
Andrew Halsall Parent Governor   18/10/2022 17/10/2026    
Mrs Anne Tunnicliffe (Chair of Governors) Co-opted Governor Governing Body 07/07/2015 06/07/2027 Finance, Safeguarding None
Mrs Lyndsey Westron  Staff Governor School Staff 01/09/2021 15/09/2025   None
Rev. Hana Amer Foundation Governor   27/06/2023 ex-efficio   None
Mr Michael Tomlinson Co-opted Governor Governing Body 15/05/2020 14/05/2024    
Other governors who have served on the governing body in the last 12 months
Pam  Andrews Foundation Governor Diocese 26/11/2021 11/04/2023   None
Sarah Webb Co-opted Governor Governing Body   13/07/2023   Business interest- GDPR






Click below to find pecuniary interests declarations for Governing Body:


Hit enter to search